2022 Impact factor 2.8
Special Topics

EPJ ST Editor Peter Hänggi awarded 2023 APS Lars Onsager Prize

Prof. Peter Hänggi

The American Physical Society awards the prestigious Lars Onsager Prize every year to one or several individuals for outstanding research in theoretical statistical physics including the quantum fluids. Professor Peter Hänggi, Universität Augsburg, Germany, Editor of EPJ ST, former Editor-in-Chief of EPJ B and 2007 Chairperson of the EPJ Scientific Advisory Committee receives the 2023 APS Lars Onsager Prize "for the development of Brownian motors and pioneering contributions to nonequilibrium statistical physics, relativistic and quantum thermodynamics."

Peter Hänggi studied at the University of Basel, Switzerland. For his Ph.D. he studied the time-evolution, symmetries, fluctuation theorems and response theory of stochastic process far from equilibrium. He spent years of post-doc studies at University of Illinois Urbana–Champaign in the group of Prof. H. Frauenfelder, University of Stuttgart, University of California San Diego and he was employed (1980-1986) Ass. Prof. and Assoc. Prof. at the Polytechnic Institute New York. Since June 1986, he is employed full professor at University of Augsburg. His research involves substantial contributions to the beneficial role of fluctuations and transport in statistical physics, primarily for his original Brownian motor concept, salient contributions to stochastic resonance, dissipative and time-dependent driven quantum tunneling, the characterization of relativistic Brownian motion & relativistic thermodynamics, and his recent contributions to the foundations of Quantum Thermodynamics in and far from equilibrium. Peter Hänggi is a recipient of a number of scientific awards. Most significant ones are the Lars Onsager Lecture and medal (2011), the Blaise Pascal medal (2018), the Smoluchowski medal from the Jagiellonian Univ. Krakòw (2006), the M. Smoluchowski-E.-Warburg prize by the German & Polish Phys. Soc. (2019). He has also been awarded with over 10 Drs. h.c. and is an elected member of the German National Academy Leopoldina, Academia Europaea, and European Academy of Sciences. (EURASC) and the Academiei Române.

Managing Editors
Anne Ruimy and Vijala Kiruvanayagam (EDP Sciences) and Sabine Lehr (Springer-Verlag)
Dear Sabine,
For me it was a great pleasure to work with you, Christian and Isabelle. All questions have been resolved very fast. And amiability and competence of Isabelle are inestimable. Best regards,

Natasha Kirova, CNRS & University Paris Sud, Orsay, France
Editor EPJ Special Topics 222/5, 2013

ISSN: 1951-6355 (Print Edition)
ISSN: 1951-6401 (Electronic Edition)

© EDP Sciences and Springer-Verlag