2023 Impact factor 2.6
Special Topics

Scientific Advisory Committee

Since January 2000, a Scientific Advisory Committee, has been established with the aim to advise both the publishers and the Editors-in-Chief of the respective sections of The European Physical Journal about editorial policy matters and aims & scope. The overall purpose is to offer the physics community - in Europe and throughout the world - a unified and high-quality forum to further development of international collaborations and the world-wide dissemination of physical sciences.

Recently, the publishers have also invited other researcher networks of European significance to offer their expertise to suitably advise for the same purpose.

The Scientific Advisory Committee meets once a year and is chaired by one of the representatives. Currently they are: Chairperson 2024: Zsolt Fülöp; Past Chairperson: Michel Calame; Chairperson Elect: Ian Bearden

Group photo of the Scientific Advisory Committee, Editors-in-Chief and Steering Committee of EPJ taken at the joint meeting at EMPA, Dübendorf, Switzerland, April 2023 (photographer: Maria Sutter)

The original chart of the Scientific Advisory Committee can be found here. The current chart has been approved at the SAC meeting in 2011 and further updated in 2016 and 2020.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The Scientific Advisory Committee consists of representatives from the following societies:


Austrian Physical Society
Representative: Gottfried Strasser
Optical components and nanostructures


Belgian Physical Society
Representative: Kristel Crombé
Plasma physics, nuclear fusion, ion cyclotron resonant heating, plasma diagnostics, spectroscopy


Bulgarian Physical Society
Representative: Victoria Vitkova
Soft matter physics


Croatian Physical Society
Representative: Katarina Uzelac
Statistical physics; critical phenomena, nonequilibrium systems; solid-state physics


Czech Physical Society
Representative: Libor Juha
Chemical consequences of XUV/x-ray laser-matter interactions


Danish Physical Society
Representative: Ian Bearden
Experimental particle physics


European Physical Society
Representative: Roberta Caruso
Superconducting devices; oxide interfaces


Finnish Physical Society
Representative: Anu Kankainen
Nuclear physics; nuclear astrophysics


French Physical Society
Representative: Quentin Glorieux
Quantum optics, quantum technology, cold atomics gases, BEC, superfluidity, fluids of light, quantum gases, polaritons, NanoOptics


German Physical Society
Representative: Robert Klanner
Experimental particle physics; radition detectors


Hellenic Physical Society
Representative: Konstantinos Bachas
Experimental High Energy Physics; LHC; ATLAS Detector; Muon Spectrometer; Diboson Production


Israel Physical Society
Representative: Eric Akkermans
Mesoscopic quantum physics; non-equilibrium statistical mechanics; quantum condensed matter


Italian Physical Society
Representative: Sara Pirrone
Nuclear Physics: nuclear reaction and dynamics (heavy ion collision, multifragmentation, complete and incomplete fusion, fission), nuclear matter, equation of state, nuclear thermodynamics


Latvian Physical Society
Representative: Ruvin Ferber
Molecular spectroscopy; diatomic molecules; hyperfine structure; optics; optical polarization of molecules; astrophysics; nitrogen-vacancy centers; foundations of physics


The Netherlands' Physical Society
Representative: Brenda Timmerman
Particle physics


Norwegian Physical Society
Representative: Jens O. Andersen
QCD at extreme conditions; effective field theory; Bose-Einstein condensation


Polish Physical Society
Representative: Adam Maj
Experimental low energy nuclear physics; structure of atomic nucleus; nuclear deformation; nuclear giant resonances; collective vibrations; gamma-ray detectors; gamma-ray spectroscopy; g-factor measurement; exotic nuclei; hot rotating nuclei; popularization of science


Portuguese Physical Society
Representative: Luís Carlos
optical materials, luminescence nanothermometry and applications of organic-inorganic hybrids in luminescent solar concentrators, solid-state lighting, and integrated optics


Roland Eötvös Physical Society (Hungary)
Hungarian Academy of Sciences
Representative: Zsolt Fülöp
Nuclear astrophysics, ultra low energy nuclear reactions, low background techniques


Romanian Physical Society
Representative: Ioan Ursu
Nuclear physics: nuclear structure models and applications of the nuclear to medicine, science communication


Russian Academy of Sciences
Participation suspended


Society of Mathematicians, Physicists and Astronomers of Slovenia
Representative: Slobodan Žumer
Modeling, simulations, and theory of anisotropic soft matter and its use in optics and photonics


Spanish Royal Physics Society
Representative: Miguel Ángel Fernández Sanjuán
Chaos; nonlinear dynamics; complex systems


Swedish Physical Society
Representative: Johan Åkerman
Spintronics, magnonics, nano devices, Brillouin light scattering microscopy, neuromorphic computing


Swiss Physical Society
Representative: Michel Calame
Condensed matter physics; materials and molecular physics; nanoscience, nano- and molecular electronics; nanomaterials; biophysics; biosensing

Early Career Physicists Networks

Representatives from researcher networks listed in this section will be regularly invited to join the annual joint Steering & Scientific Advisory Committee meetings as well as the many ongoing topical working groups.

EPS Young Minds

EPS Young Minds
Representative: Mattia Ostinato
Soft Matter, Non-equilibrium Statistical Mechanics, Phase Transitions, Molecular Dynamics, Magnetism

Managing Editors
Sandrine Karpe and Vijala Kiruvanayagam (EDP Sciences) and Sabine Lehr (Springer-Verlag)
Dear Sabine,
On this occasion, may I also thank you for your support: collaboration with you is always very pleasant and effective. Have a nice day, yours, Yurij

Yurij Holovatch, National Academy of Sciences, Lviv, Ukraine
Editor EPJ Special Topics 216, 2013

ISSN: 1951-6355 (Print Edition)
ISSN: 1951-6401 (Electronic Edition)

© EDP Sciences and Springer-Verlag